Skip to content

Each year at the NC Affordable Housing Conference we recognize individuals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to advocate for affordable housing. If you know someone who stands out in one of the following areas, please nominate them for an award by sending a short paragraph about their work to info@nchousing.orgThe deadline for nominations is August 10.

Sister Barbara Sullivan Award (Volunteer of the Year)

This award is given for devotion and commitment to finding viable solutions and improving housing conditions for low-income families through personal commitment and sacrifice as a volunteer.

A. Robert Kucab Award (Professional of the Year)

This award is given for making a significant impact on affordable housing through professional involvement by demonstrating efforts above and beyond normal role or duties as a housing professional.

  • 2017: Debra King, CASA
  • 2016: Jeff Staudinger, City of Asheville and Louise Mack, Prosperity Unlimited
  • 2015: Gina Wong, Greenville County Human Relations Commission
  • 2014: Harriett K. Reynolds, Triangle Family Services
  • 2013: Freda Taylor, The Arc of North Carolina
  • 2012: Martha Are, NCDHHS Division of Aging and Adult Services
  • 2011: Doug George, Weaver Cooke Construction
    Lorisa Seibel, Durham Affordable Housing Coalition
  • 2010: Brian Coyle, BB&T
  • 2009: Katrina Bryant, Northeastern CDC
  • 2008: Frankie Pendergraph, Pendergraph Management, LLC
  • 2007: Michael Avery & Walter Hartman, City of New Bern
  • 2006: Lane Sarver, The Sarver Group

Bill Rowe Service to Affordable Housing Award

This award recognizes a significant commitment and impact on affordable housing over the course of a career.

  • 2017: Mal Maynard, Attorney
  • 2016: A. Robert Kucab, NC Housing Finance Agency
  • 2015: Pat Garrett, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Housing Partnership
  • 2014: Mary Reca Todd, NC Housing Finance Agency
  • 2013: Kevin Campbell, Habitat for Humanity of Wake County and Lew Kraus, Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity
  • 2012: Chris Estes, National Housing Conference
  • 2011: Kevin Foy, Mayor, Town of Chapel Hill
    Paul Stock, NC Bankers Association
  • 2010: Lucius Jones, NC Housing Finance Agency

Public Official of the Year Award

This award recognizes a public official who places priority on improving housing conditions and fights for the additional resources and legislation needed to make this happen

Louise Mack Award (Housing Counselor of the Year) 

This award is given to a housing counselor for their leadership in the field of housing counseling and their dedication to financial security for all North Carolinians.

Many thanks to our sponsors